Used Books
Search

5 books every young adult should read!

Updated: May 22

PS: click on the book title to open the amazon link for the books


1. The Night Circus

Author- Erin Morgenstern

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breath-taking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.”


A romantic mystery from a place of various unknowns. With every page flipped, the author never fails to build on the suspense and keep the readers craving for answers as the plot unravels. The scenes are described so vividly that you are instantly drawn towards the characters.

The characters Marco and Celia are entwined in a competition so fierce, one for which they have been trained ruthlessly for all their years of childhood. Alone in this world of competition, they are left with no option but to tread on this path all alone, each man for himself. The author has taken a very simple storyline but has stitched it into an alluring and prepossessing fantastical romance. It has a very ethereal feel to it the whole way through which makes for beautiful visuals and a deliberate sense that while you're in a world so fantastical, that you find yourself on a different plane of existence. This is the nonpareil to all other fictional books mentioned below in this list.





2. Paper Towns

Author- John Green


“The way I figure it, everyone gets a miracle. Like, I will probably never be struck by lightning, or win a Nobel Prize, or become the dictator of a small nation in the Pacific Islands, or contract terminal ear cancer, or spontaneously combust.”


With the moving of Margo Roth Spiegelman next door, the life of our protagonist Quentin ‘Q’ Jacobsen turns upside down. To the young Q, Margo is an adventure. One day Margo and Q come across a dead body. After graduating, they drift apart, losing complete contact. When one day, Margo asked Jason on a revenge mission, she disagreed. Margo, being a quick thinker, leaves a trail for Jason to find her. This mystery is sure to keep everyone on their heels, and unable to keep the book down. A character development arc can’t be more perfect that what John Green writes. So crawl into a cosy nook with a cup of cold coffee and complete this book in one go.





3. Divergent

Author- Veronica Roth


““A few people stopped when I fell, but none of them offered to help me. Their eyes follow me to the edge of the hallway. This sort of thing has been happening to others in my faction for months now—the Erudite have been releasing antagonistic reports about Abnegation, and it has begun to affect the way we relate at school. The grey clothes, the plain hairstyle, and the unassuming demeanour of my faction are supposed to make it easier for me to forget myself, and easier for everyone else to forget me too. But now they make me a target.”


Divided into factors, the book revolves around a dystopian future. Your leading trait puts you in the factor you most belong to- Amity for the kind, Candor for the honest, Erudite for the intelligent, Abnegation for the selfless and Dauntless for the brave. At 16, everyone chooses their factor post a test. After the test, Beatrice is informed that they belong to not one but 3 factors- Erudite, Abnegation and Dauntless making her a Divergent and a threat. An unexpected decision is made by her choosing Dauntless. A book to get your adrenaline pumping and your eyes wide open, cautious to not miss a single word. This book trilogy is sure to make a cut for fans of books like Maze Runner, Hunger Games and other dystopian series.




4. The Percy Jackson series

Author- Rick Riordan


“Being a half-blood is dangerous. It’s scary. Most of the time, it gets you killed in painful, nasty ways. If you’re a normal kid, reading this because you think it’s fiction, great. Read on. I envy you for being able to believe that none of this ever happened. But if you recognize yourself in these pages – if you feel something stirring inside – stop reading immediately. You might be one of us. And once you know that, it’s only a matter of time before they sense it too, and they’ll come for you.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.”


A great starter series! If you are looking for a casual read with lots of twists-and-turns and adventures then stop the hunt as you have found the treasure! The book revolves around, as the title suggests, Percy Jackson, a 12-year-old dyslexic boy who has just discovered he is a demigod (part human and part god). Making the Greek gods come to life, Rick Riordan has a way of words and the humorous tone to all his books is perfect! Supporting characters include, Annabeth Chase (as daughter of Athena), Grover Underwood (a satyr), Luke Castellan (as son of Hermes), and Chiron (a centaur and their mentor). This group tries to protect the humans from discovering that the demigod offspring live amongst them whilst battling monsters. This book is an absolute must read. If you are an avid reader then you will devour this book in under 24 hours!





5. Looking for Alaska

Author- John Green


“If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane”


John Green’s first book Looking For Alaska was a crowd pleaser. Effortlessly portraying heavy topics like suicide, addiction and overdose, Looking for Alaska is a book orated by Mike Halter about his high school life. His best friend Alaska has had a past which has scarred her forevermore. She feels she is to blame for her mother’s tragic death. Her father is not as close to her, and she is alone on her way through high school. She is heavily addicted to drugs. She along with Chip Martin and Takumi Hikohito pull of various pranks within the school premises. The story revolves around their school days and Alaska’s tragic death. How did Alaska die, remains a mystery yet. Every reader has their own version of the ending of this book. Grab this book at your nearest bookstall and drown in sorrows as you savour each and every word about this world written by the author with deep interest


Thank you! It was a pleasure writing this blog. Please do add in your views on the same in the comments!

174 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All